Cannonball Read 5, Book 6: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Image

Well. This is a bit of a conundrum. Here we are, six books in, with my first bona fide five star, staggeringly awesome book of the 2013 Cannonball, and reviewing it is going to be next to impossible.

Why? Because to say too much about this deliciously dark, utterly twisted thriller, to give too much away, would deaden the impact. Knowing anything other than the barest `outlines of the plot is very much NOT in your interest here. The outline is “Nick and Amy Dunne have a textbook happy marriage. Then, on their 5th anniversary, Amy vanishes. All roads lead to Nick, who claims to be innocent. Or is he?” That’s really as much as I can say if you want to read this book and not curse my name on any of the 445 immaculately constructed pages.

That is, without a doubt, Flynn’s major strength. Her storytelling is superb, her characters fantastically realised and authentic, her writing absolutely engaging. You can identify with pretty much everyone in the novel. It’s no surprise that in a genre that rarely has critics turning somersaults, Gone Girl was one of the best reviewed books of last year.

I was sucked in from the get go and literally couldn’t read it fast enough as the plot developed into an ever deeper mystery, until I got to the final page. Then I felt like Flynn had closed a (hardback) copy of the book and whacked me full in the face with it. And I mean that in the best possible way. Stunning.

5 thoughts on “Cannonball Read 5, Book 6: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. Pingback: Popcultureboy’s #CBR5 Review #06: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn | Cannonball Read V

  2. This book has been sitting in my backseat, buckled up, just waiting for me to finish one on-the-go and pick it up. I really need to because I’ve heard nothing but great reviews.

Leave a Reply

